Collector of Quotes

I’m a quotes person. Maybe I’m just intellectually lazy, but I simply love little nuggets of wisdom that can be easily ingested and pondered over.  I keep a document  in Word labelled “Random”. It’s just what it’s called, random thoughts of mine: various poets, writers, and musicians I hope to check out, objects and thoughts I come across throughout the day that give me pause. It’s also littered with quotes.

 Here are some of my favorites:

”If you have never been called a defiant, incorrigible, impossible woman… have faith… there is yet time.” Clarissa Pinkola Estes–Thanks to unsettledsoul for that one.
 
“Women might be able to fake orgasms. But men can fake a whole relationship.”  Sharon Stone

“Do or do not. There is no try.” Yoda–The Empire Strikes Back

“God, please save me from your followers!”   Bumper Sticker–I want, but doubt husband would tolerate.

“All murderers are punished unless they kill in large numbers and to the sound of trumpets.” Voltaire
 
“Anyone who has the power to make you believe absurdities has the power to make you commit injustices.” Voltaire –Voltaire has some good quotes.

“Now, now my good man, this is no time for making enemies.”  Voltaire–on his deathbed in response to a priest asking that he renounce Satan.

“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I’m not sure about the universe.”  Albert Einstein

“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.”  Albert Einstein–another one with great quotes.

“Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear.” Mark Twain

“Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.” Emerson
“I had a lovers quarrel with the world.” Robert Frost– the great one.
 
“”No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.”  Eleanor Roosevelt–my girl.
 
Anyone else a collector of quotes? Got one to add to my collection?
P.S. Sorry for the funky formatting. WP is acting strange.
7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Collector of Quotes

  1. SOLIDSOUL

    Kindness
    To gladden the heart of the weary, to remove the suffering of the afflicted, hath its own reward. In the day of trouble, the memory of the action cometh like a rush of the torrent, and taketh our burden away.

    He who helpeth his fellow-creature in the hour of need, and he who helpeth the oppressed, him will God help in the Day of Travail.

    What actions are most excellent? To gladden the heart of a human being, to feed the hungry, to help the afflicted, to lighten the sorrow of the sorrowful, and to remove the wrongs of the injured.

    Who is the most favored of God? He from whom the greatest good cometh to His creatures.

    All God’s creatures are His family; and he is the most beloved of God who doeth most good to God’s creatures.

    Whoever is kind to His creatures, God is kind to him; therefore be kind to man on earth, whether good or bad; and being kind to the bad, is to withold him from badness, thus in heaven you will be treated kindly.

    He who is not kind to God’s creatures, and to his own children, God will not be kind to him.

    Kindness is a mark of faith: and whoever hath not kindness hath not faith.
    http://www.twf.org/Sayings/Sayings3.html#Kindness

  2. Pinky

    “Nothing in this world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful people with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent.” Calvin Coolidge

  3. Lisa

    Love this! I guess I’m sort of a mental collector of quotes, as I too love a good, meaningful quote. I should keep them in a file, too, though, as they have a way of slipping away from me when I file them in my brain.

  4. Ameira

    “Above all, try always to be able to feel deeply any injustice committed against any person in any part of the world. It is the most beautiful quality of a revolutionary.”
    –Che

  5. unsettled soul’s response:
    http://almostclever.wordpress.com/2011/04/07/a-response/

    I absolutely LOVE this one: “To tell a woman everything she may not do is to tell her what she can do.” ~Spanish Proverb

    Isn’t that so true?

    AND this one: “No one should have to dance backward all of their lives.” ~Jill Ruckelshaus

  6. great quotes! Thanks for sharing.

  7. Charlene

    I love quotes also, but when I tried to collect my favorites, the list soon got so long and unwieldy I couldn’t keep track of it. That was about fifteen years ago, so maybe I should have my husband build me a database for them, now that he knows how to do that.

    One of my favorites is: “The truth, when it comes in words, is always a matter of interpretation.” –Tom Brown Jr.

    I also really love that quote by Dr. E (Clarissa Pinkola Estes) you listed above. If you haven’t read any of her books, I highly recommend them.

    And I’m going to borrow that Spanish proverb for my FB status. 😉

Leave a Reply

