Ex Muslim Blogs

It seems there are many now defunct and abandoned blogs of people who have left Islam.  Blogs like Here in Glitnir, or The Pakistani Heretical Girl, or Abooali’s blog, or Not Muslim Anymore. I suppose, eventually, people work through their issues with religion and move on.

Many of the current blogs by ex-Muslims–those dealing with the subject of apostacy–I enjoy very much and echo many of the sentiments found within. I personally think the new wave of ex Muslim bloggers, although few, are intelligent and fair. I might be biased, however.

 Here are some ex Muslim blogs I read regularly:

Tazaqqa  One of my favorite bloggers out there. Always thought provoking and enlightening.

Eve Bites the Apple She’s the new kid on the block and I love her style.

Diminuitive Diva  I always enjoy her insights.

So, Brother A ran off with a stripper, and…. OK, how could you not read a blog with that name?

Some others I know about:

Baloney Thinking

Ex Niqabi Muslimah Ex Muslimah coming back to her Christian faith. I don’t get it, but that’s her experience.

Maryam Namazie One of the founders of the Council Ex Muslims of Britain

Please, if you know of any others, I will add them to the list. Our voices, opinions and stories deserve an equal space. We will be heard, if only for others in similar positions.

27 Comments

Filed under apostasy, ex muslim, ex muslim blogs

27 responses to “Ex Muslim Blogs

  1. I was under the impression that Kaleema (at So, Brother A ran off with a stripper, and….) is still a Muslim, just no longer a conservative Muslim.

    • hmm, i dunno. faith and labels can be such fluid concepts. evens so, i’m leaving her on the list as her experience is surely helpful for those leaving the faith altogether.

      • In her sidebar FAQs she writes, “Who are you? I am a Muslim woman who has lived in conservative and insular North American Muslim communities for over two decades, and I am now trying to recover from the experience.” Not saying you should delete her; it’s a great blog.

  2. Sig

    It is interesting to think about what labels we apply to us, and what meanings they hold and what a community or society at large says we are or aren’t, and what meaning that holds. There are people who call themselves “Muslim” who would not be considered thus by the mainstream sunni or shia or even some progressives. Are they still Muslims? Is a Muslim one who says he or she is? And my question always has been, if one rejects some of the core tenets of the faith, then why bother with the label unless it is for nostalgia or heritage? I think a lot of us – not all of us – go through a “still Muslim, but not like that…” phase. And then we get past it.

    • I agree wholeheartedly. In my own experience, I labelled myself as a progressive for a short time. And then I realized, my understanding of God, Muhammad and Islam were so far out of mainstream, that I was no longer Muslim but something else.

    • If someone says she’s a Muslim, let’s take her at her word. We can ask her why she chooses that label, what being a Muslim means to her, etc. To question all but conservative Muslims’ right to call themselves “Muslims” is what the conservatives do to everyone else. Why play into that?

      • Sig

        I wasn’t saying that Kaleema is or isn’t – I’m not speaking about her at all. It was just a question raised by what I read here … what use are labels, what meaning do they have? For those of us who have put decades into this, who uprooted and changed our lives, for whom this was our primary identity for the bulk of our adult lives, it’s not easy to give up. I think even for people who haven’t claimed this label for a very long time it can be that way too. So does the label mean what the person who claims it says it means? Or do we have commonly agreed upon parameters for it? That can go for anything, not just “Muslim.” “Feminist.” “Christian.” “Queer.” “Liberal.”

    • Houda

      Well-said 🙂

  3. nonex2x

    NO offense, I respect you as a human being. My friendly suggestion – or- opinion.
    Don’t bang your head on wall. Ex-Muslims are always there since last 1400 years. But Islam has grown multi folds recently comparing to an atheist, agnostics and other religions.
    Let me say again, don’t count your new faith banging on blogs and walls.
    God bless you.

    • I do not have a “new faith” as you put it, more like a lack of faith in any of man’s religions. It is not my concern if Islam is growing, nor is it my concern to influence or sway people in one direction or another. I do believe my voice, and voices telling similar stories have a right to be heard and it’s my hope that we might provide some solace to others with similar doubts.

    • Sig

      The only way Islam grows – if it truly does, which I tend to doubt since Muslims never offer real evidence of things like numbers – is through birth rates, not conversion.

  4. almostclever

    I love Kaleema’s blog, and Diminutive Diva’s! I’ll have to check out the others.

    In regards to what Sig is talking about, I know that feeling, but I think it is ok to hover somewhere in-between. I think I may consider myself a non practicing Muslim, and never actually break completely. If I talked about it (as I have before) I would go crazy. The ignorance level of *some* religious people never fails to astound me.

    I am embracing the art of mystery, there is a politics game to it. I see it in my Muslim friends all the time. One way with practicing Muslims, another way with others, with no one knowing what you “really” feel, therefore unable to “figure us out.” Could you imagine the flak I would get talking about that?! LOL, but that’s reality for so many people in so many ways. And I am one of them now. It is my time to practice this art, because once we live in Malaysia, that game will be played by so many, including myself. For example: A friend of mine works for the United Nations in Malaysia, she is the most unbound (bi-sexual, alcohol drinking, weed smoking, single mother, who is RICH and supports herself) woman I know ANYWHERE, she is a breath of fresh air. Needing to play politics she wears hijab to certain functions, remains coy about her real beliefs when around certain people, and fights HARD for oppressed peoples in Malaysia. At first I didn’t understand her. When we went to college together in the States she was so free, wore whatever, had a girlfriend she brought to functions, spoke her mind loudly, was a natural leader, held poetry slams in our union. She goes to Malaysia and completely changes. I questioned her, she said she is just playing the game, and she broke it down for me. I was in awe. She is the most intelligent woman I know.

    Anyway, I just wanted to share that.. LOL.. Because I agree with the problem of labels. They don’t work. And I also agree completely that people’s voices need to be heard, loud and clear. People only have to play the game of duality with religion because of religious people. If my friend was “found out” she never would have gotten her position at the UN. She would be in prison! There is power in living in a dual reality, when finding oneself in this type of system. I used to think people like this were fake, I was seeing this so much with many of my college Muslim friends. I was so wrong to see it that way.

  5. Sameerah

    They are fakes, using the “Muslim” label, that is fake.
    Why would you even call yourself muslim if you don’t belief in the core of Islam.To hide? Get a job? a husband? If that’s the case, you are fake

    • Sameerah–I threw your comment in the trash several times before I decided to publish. In that case, it would have been a first on this blog. I don’t mind so much when people attack me personally; certainly, the comments on this blog have gotten heated more times than once. However, when a commenter attacks another commenter unprovoked (especially one I consider a friend), well, that pisses me off.

      I did decide to publish if only to engage in dialogue with you. I’m curious why you feel so emotional about someone using the title “Muslim” despite holding views which are clearly outside of the pervading orthodoxy? I mean, why do some religious people feel it’s their duty to be the keepers of purity within the faith? In the case of the friend of almostclever, she continues to use the label of Muslim because she has to if she wants to be accepted and succesful in that society. That is an issue with the society and discriminatory attitudes, rather than with the individual.

      This subject of what makes a Muslim is nothing new. Certainly you are entitled to your opinions and free to express them here. However, in the future, please refrain from using such a disparaging and combative tone.

  6. almostclever

    Well that is certainly one way of looking at it, Sameerah. Your opinion, I might add, is an excellent example of why some Muslims choose to live this dualistic reality. Why so high in emotion, Sameerah? It is not so much that people use the “Muslim” label to get a job. I was alluding more to the born Muslims, who in a secular society may “deconvert” or become apostates, but because of the restrictive religious codes of their society, they instead live a dualistic life in order to “get by” in that society without becoming outcasts or facing the harsh consequences of apostasy. For example, not getting a job, possible jail time, no chance of working for the government (in Malaysia hijab is mandatory if you want to work for the government, so you see, many would see hijab as simply a uniform, no religious significance attached, yet mandatory hijab also shows the clear expectation of being Muslim, no?). In this case, and to keep with the theme of the post, I would go so far as to say being an outright apostate could be seen as a luxury, by some. For many people globally, apostasy could equal economic, social, and political loss. Hence, the dual lives lived by many. Looking at it from this view, I would say there is not much fake about it at all. People work with what they have. It is called survival.

  7. almostclever

    Also, in regards to myself, Sameerah; I will only say that I am much more fluid than you seem to be, and I would not expect you to understand that.

  8. “Eve bites the apple” — a very interesting title! Very attractive, too.

    Like Zuhura said, “So, Brother A ran off with a stripper” is a Muslim woman, as she has written explicitly on her blog. I would be careful before putting her in a list with ex-Muslims, as that might be offensive to her. I have been placed on lists of ex-Muslims before (those doing it used your reasoning: “Your experience is important for those who want to leave Islam altogether!”), and I never appreciated that.

    For those claiming that these people are “fake” and all, what the hell. And just because there have been ex-Muslims since the last 1400 years doesn’t mean anything. There always have been and there always will be people coming into and people leaving religions, including Islam.

    • Sig

      I doubt Kaleema would be offended by being lumped in the company of filthy ex-Muslims, since she is an avid reader of ex-Muslim blogs and communicates – without fear of contamination – with some of us.

    • Sig

      Seeing as how Kaleema has actively participated as a commenter and reader of ex-Muslim blogs and communicates with ex-Muslims, I don’t think she fears contamination by us filthy kafirs. Well, at least self-proclaimed Muslims of all stripes can agree on one thing – staying clear of ex-Muslims.

      • QUOTE: “Well, at least self-proclaimed Muslims of all stripes can agree on one thing – staying clear of ex-Muslims.”

        You must not know enough Muslims to believe this. As you see from the comments of the many Muslims, including me, who comment on and fully respect Stephanie’s choices, “all” (or, hell, even most) Muslims don’t believe in staying clear of ex-Muslims.

  9. Houda

    tazaqqa.wordpress is an amazing read. thanks.

  10. solidsoul

    Islam is like a mountain of pure gold. With its great teachings of righteousness, modesty non harami things and all other good aptitudes-moreover divine causes, it helped millions of stray souls to come back to their real life to live a healthy and wealthy understanding of mind and life.
    No “ MINDSOR ELEMENTS” on this planet, filled with doubtful, vengeance, misunderstanding and misinterpretation , such as ex-Muslims, fake Muslims, hypocrites calling themselves as Muslims to take advantage of materialistic gain, enemies of Islam, islamophobes and double agents can fade its glittering with their heinous thoughts or doubts or whatever.
    High tech transmissions, biased media propagations, easily available twisted history of Islam and prophet on internet and other media’s did nothing rather helped non Muslims to understand Islam better than Muslims who try to call them to the deen of righteousness.
    The more enemies’ surrounds and attacks, the more enter into Islam.
    Even my bad English couldn’t stop its spreading.

    • please, for the sake of clarity, post under one name. you’ve left several comments, all under different names. it becomes confusing when one person impersonates several. no need to play the chameleon.

  11. Jasmine

    “Islam began among a few individuals, then it spread and prevailed, then it will reduce in numbers until there are only a few left, as it was in the beginning.”
    “Indeed Islaam began as something strange. And it will return as something strange the way it began. So give glad tidings to the strangers” ( Prophet Mohamed SAW).

    It shouldn’t matter to Muslims how many people come into Islam or leave Islam. There are many Muslims who are cultural Muslims or Muslims namesake. Faith is something of personal conviction, and how one practices their faith or lack of faith should not be of anyone’s concern. In the end we are only responsible for our OWN actions, no one else’s.

  12. solidsoul

    correction,
    NO “MINDSOR ELEMENTS” = NO “MINDS OR ELEMENTS”

  13. Pingback: Musings on Muslim identity (II) | A Sober Second Look

Leave a Reply

